Experimenting with Aperture and Shutter Speed

When it comes to shooting certain objects, the aperature and shutter speeds may vary depending on the atmosphere, location and the subject itself. Therefore, when focusing on taking a close up photograph of a Piano, I had to experiement with different aperatures and shutter speeds to recieve the results I wanted.

High aperture - darker image

High aperture – darker image

I first took this photograph, in which as you can see the lighting is very dark. The reason for this was due to the fact that my aperture was too high, thus meaning less light was absorbed. In order to avoid this I had to decrease the aperature, which also meant shuffling around the shutter speed to match accordingly.

Lower shutter speed meant a shaky outcome

Slower shutter speed meant a shaky outcome

Though when it came to the shutter speed, I noticed that I had kept it too slow. This resulted in a shaken photograph, where not using a tripod wasn’t a good idea. Bearing in mind, that I was trying to achieve a photograph handheld, I increased the shutter speed, which complimented with the smaller aperture.

The aperture and shutter speed complimented each other. Smaller aperture + Faster shutter speed = good photograph

The aperture and shutter speed complimented each other. Smaller aperture + Faster shutter speed = good photograph

Finally I resulted with the photograph above, where it was neither dark nor shaken. My aperture and shutter speed seemed accurate where I achieved a great close up of the Piano keys.

Leave a Reply

